Regulatory / FinTech / DLT

MLL Legal’s Regulatory, FinTech and DLT team has profound knowledge in the legal and technical aspects of distributed ledger technology, blockchain technology (public, private, permissioned or permissionless), layer-two scaling solutions (lightning protocol), side-chains (drivechain, liquid network, POA network). We provide actionable advise to help our clients to pursue the untapped possibilities of distributed ledger and blockchain technology, from innovative financing structures to new business models using FinTech and applications with the aspiration to reshape existing industries or economic behaviour.

  • We advise on the tokenisation of financial instruments as well as virtual and physical goods and are also well versed regarding the formation of smart contract-based ecosystems such as decentralised, autonomous organisations (DAO) or full economies (DAE).
  • Our specialists come from all areas of law and bring together a mix of expertise that covers the old- as well as the new economy. Our team has an in-depth understanding of the functioning and features of new technologies and actively contributes to the respective tech-communities.
  • We see ourselves as enablers and guide projects through the legal and regulatory landscape with the aim to bring out the best of the used technology.

Initial Token Offering (ICO)

Tokens issued as part of an initial token offering can have various functionalities. We help clients to determine the appropriate token type with the most beneficial use for the planned project and tailor an approach to issue the payment token, utility token or a stable coin in a compliant and efficient manner.


Security Token Offering (STO)

We have been involved in many projects launching a security token offering. We advise clients in structuring the tokenisation of equity, debt (bonds), derivates, participation rights, convertibles (SAFE) or other novel financial products, draft the required documentation and guide clients through the token issuance process by drawing on our deep understanding of technology and of the enforcement priorities of key regulators such as FINMA.


FinTech

We support clients in establishing and operating fintech businesses, including navigation through the relevant licensing regimes to obtain a FinTech license (banking license light), a banking license, a securities dealer license or to become a member of a self-regulatory organisation as a financial intermediary.



“I am immensely impressed by the exceptional service and outstanding capabilities of MLL. Their legal expertise and commitment to clients are truly remarkable. Throughout my case, they demonstrated unparalleled professionalism, attention to detail, and an unwavering dedication to achieving the best possible outcome. Their track record of success speaks volumes about their competence”

Legal 500 EMEA, Fintech, 2024

Related to this Practice Area

Publications

The Legal 500 Country Comparative Guides 2024 – Switzerland: Fintech

The Legal 500 Country Comparative Guides 2024, February 2024
  • EN

Cryptoassets & Blockchain 2024 – Switzerland

Lexology GTDT, Getting The Deal Through, Law Business Research, January 2024
  • EN

Tokenisierung von Immobilien: Hype oder bald Realität?

Präsentation über Anwendungsbereich von Blockchaintechnologie im Immobiliensektor, MLL Legal
  • DE

Fintech 2023 Switzerland – Trends and Developments

Chambers and Partners, Global Practice Guides, Fintech 2023, 20 April 2023
  • EN

Regulatory / FinTech / DLT

Das Regulatory, DLT & FinTech-Team von MLL verfügt über fundierte Kenntnisse in Bezug auf die rechtlichen und technischen Aspekte der Distributed-Ledger-Technologie, der Blockchain-Technologie (Public, Private, Permissionless und Permissioned), von Layer-two-Scaling-Lösungen (Lightning Protocol) und von Side-Chains (Drivechain, Liquid Network, POA-Netzwerk). Wir helfen unserem Klientel die Möglichkeiten der Distributed Ledger- und Blockchain-Technologie voll auszuschöpfen und beraten bei der Ausarbeitung von innovativen Finanzierungsstrukturen bis hin zu neuen technologiebasierten Geschäftsmodellen im FinTech Bereich.

  • Wir beraten bei der Tokenisierung von Finanzinstrumenten sowie virtuellen und physischen Gütern und strukturieren gemeinsam mit unseren Klientinnen und Klienten Smart Contract basierte Ökosysteme wie dezentrale, autonome Organisationen (DAO) oder vollständige Volkswirtschaften (DAE).
  • Unsere Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten kommen aus verschiedenen Rechtsgebieten und können deshalb eine umfassende Beratung anbieten. Wir verfügen über ein tiefes Verständnis der Funktionsweise und der Besonderheiten von neuen Technologien und tragen aktiv zur Weiterentwicklung und Rechtsakzeptanz bei.
  • Bei uns steht die Technologie im Vordergrund und wir sind bestrebt, im rechtlich zulässigen Rahmen das volle Potenzial auszuschöpfen.

Initial Token Offering (ICO)

Unsere Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten kennen die verschiedenen Tokenfunktionalitäten und können diese zivilrechtlich sowie regulatorisch einordnen. Wir unterstützen unser Klientel bei der Bestimmung des geeigneten Token-Typus und erarbeiten massgeschneiderte Lösungen, um Zahlungstoken (Payment), Nutzungstoken (Utility) oder Stable Coins rechtskonform auszugeben.

Security Token Offering (STO)

Wir beraten bei der Strukturierung von Token, die Eigenkapital, Fremdkapital (Anleihen), Derivate, Genussrechte, Wandelanleihen (SAFE) oder andere neuartige Finanzprodukte repräsentieren. Wir erstellen die erforderliche Dokumentation und begleiten unsere Klientinnen und Klienten beim Token-Emissionsprozess. Unsere reichhaltige Erfahrung im Zusammenhang mit Security Token Offerings erlaubt es uns, die Emission nach dem höchsten Standard und effizient abzuwickeln.

FinTech

Wir unterstützen unser Klientel beim Aufbau und Betrieb von FinTech Geschäftsmodellen. Dazu gehört die gemeinsame Erörterung von möglichen Bewilligungsformen und das Einholen von FinTech Lizenzen (Banklizenz Light), Banklizenzen, Bewilligungen als Wertpapierhaus sowie das Anmelden von Mitgliedschaften bei Selbstregulierungsorganisation als Finanzintermediär.


«They are very knowledgeable in the crypto field»

Chambers and Partners, FinTech, 2022

Im Zusammenhang mit dieser Fachgruppe

Publikationen

Cryptocurrencies as contribution in kind for foundations and capital increases

Translation into English of Anwaltsrevue article "Kryptowährungen als Sacheinlage bei Gründungen und Kapitalerhöhungen", May 2022
  • EN

Legal aspects of AML/KYC and DeFi in Switzerland

Panelist at DeFi For Good International Conference, 1 June 2022
  • EN

Virtual Currencies Comparative Guide: Switzerland

Mondaq Comparative Guides, 30 May 2022
  • EN

Kryptowährungen als Sacheinlage bei Gründungen und Kapitalerhöhungen

Anwaltsrevue, Heft 5/2022, 27. Mai 2022
  • DE